We’ve Got Tomatoes!

weve-got-tomatoes-1As you know I’m the accidental gardener, trying new things in a container garden around my home noting what works and learning from what doesn’t. San Marzano tomatoes were one of the first seeds we sprouted here a few months back, and they were slow starters, I wasn’t using any special starter blend, no peat pellets, just soil, water, light and luck, of course I changed my methods, added to my soil and changed their containers along the way finally figuring out what makes them thrive. When they shot up into big bushes covered in blossoms I couldn’t be happier, but the real moment of pride came with setting fruits, growing them, saving them from the birds and pests as they ripen.

For this I used my stockings – cut up and wrapped around groups or individual tomatoes that were close to ripe or under greatest threat from the critters. As the deep red color spread across the ripening San Marzano tomatoes, my excitement was clear. I couldn’t wait for them to be ripe enough to eat, I couldn’t wait to open one up and see the seeds inside a fruit that grew from a seed I planted.
weve-got-tomatoes-2For this I used my stockings – cut up and wrapped around groups or individual tomatoes that were close to ripe or under greatest threat from the critters. As the deep red color spread across the ripening San Marzano tomatoes, my excitement was clear. I couldn’t wait for them to be ripe enough to eat, I couldn’t wait to open one up and see the seeds inside a fruit that grew from a seed I planted.

The first tomatoes off the plants are beautiful, oblong, some pointed at the end, gleaming red and meaty. These are the perfect sauce tomatoes, just like they were meant to be. There are so many more on the plant and I hope to get to enjoy & preserve as many of them as possible. You may remember from my first blog about the tomato plants that I also planted some local tomato seeds, and those are finally setting their first fruits, They had some problems while I was away in Las Vegas but they are somewhat back on track. These local tomatoes are like little globes right now and will grow much larger than the San Marzanos.

Below are the first harvest and some of our big bushy basil ❤

weve-got-tomatoes-6

I am grateful to be able to eat food I’ve grown, grateful for the abundance of rainfall and sunshine, the climate of this island that makes it so green. I am also astonished at what can be grown in a container and what kinds of containers can come in handy for growing your food right outside your door.

weve-got-tomatoes-7

Leave a Reply

